Dear Dad: Letter from a 5 year old

Dear Dad:
It’s JW, your son (Smile). I am 5 years old now. I don’t remember your face anymore. Mom told me that she had to leave you when I was only 1-year-old . She use to show me your pictures and I called you “Daddy” as she would teach me all the time. But one day she stopped and did not tell me why. I know that she use to send you the pictures she would take. Then Dad, I remember how we use to look for your reply. You didn’t respond. She put your picture along with the last set of me that she took, in a drawer by the fireside. Sometimes I try to figure out what happened to you and mom and why you never visit me. But I still don’t have the answers like so many other questions I have to ask.

Well Dad, today is Fathers’ Day. Mom says its okay to talk to you anytime that I want, so today, I have chosen to write you a letter. Last year, mom sent you a message just for me. It said, “Happy Fathers’ Day Daddy”. but you never responded. Why? Anyway, I miss you Dad. I am sure that I do. I see other kids at school take their dads to “Play Day” when the teachers asked them to come to celebrate with their kids. I hoped so much to see you there maybe, at least, since it wouldn’t be at home. You never came dad. At least, I don’t know because the last time that I saw that picture of you was when I stole it from the drawer and slept with it under my pillow – two years ago, today, on Father’s Day.

Dad, mom takes really good care of me. She doesn’t treat me different because of my disability. Did you know? She walks and talks and even dances FOR me? She can be so silly, my mom. (smile) She doesn’t talk about you anymore but she has never said anything about you to make me love you any less. She says she had to close all communications with you to save herself. I am not sure what that means Dad, but that’s all she really says now if I ask her why you two don’t speak. Mom says I can come to see you anytime I want when I am all grown up. She says grown-ups can do that all by themselves. Dad? You are a grown-up right Dad?  Then why can’t you come to see me, Dad? Growing up “special” can be a challenge and sometimes so very hard on mom. You could help her, you know. I bet she would really like that and Dad, I really need you while I am growing up!

One last thing Dad. Although you are never here and I don’t know you yet, I hope you are still my dad for when I meet you, all grown up!

Ps: I hope you will remember my birthday this October because you’ve never said Happy Birthday son.

Your son, JW.

About Cameile P. Graham

Cameile is a teacher by profession. She holds a Diploma in Teaching from the Bethlehem Moravian College (Credit) and a Bachelor of Science degree (Summa cum laude) from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (UW-W) with a minor in Philosophy Education. She has been a teacher for over 14 years serving at the Primary, Secondary and Post-secondary levels in education. Her experience has seen her supervising teams of excellence at the various levels. Developing and fostering team communication skills is her specialty. Cameile has received several awards for educational success from distinctions in professionalism, use of technology, methodology to the Rhona Anglin award for teaching practicum,BMC . The Dean's letter for academic term success,UW-W , added to the list of her accomplishments. Her greatest accomplishment is her children, Justin and Zoey. She is a single mom to both.
Quote | This entry was posted in cerebral palsy, Family, forgiveness, God is good, life, love, mother and son, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Dad: Letter from a 5 year old

  1. Sad. Hope dad sees this and it touches his heart as much as it did mine. Keep on praying. Keep on believing. Dreams sometimes come true if you pray hard enough, baby boy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike Forrest says:

    Don’t stop writing JW. Dad will answer one day and come running.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

